What I Learned This Week: #216

Monday, October 18 – Sunday, October 24, 2021 The Week in Farewell: One of my favorite downtown spots, Court Street Lobster Bar announced that they were closing this week. The cost of flying fish to Cincinnati, plus staffing in our Pandemic world were two deciding factors. I will miss their lobster mac n’ cheese andContinue reading “What I Learned This Week: #216”

What I Learned This Week: #214

Monday, October 4 – Sunday, October 10, 2021 The Week in Speed Lecturing: I got gifted tickets to see historian and author Doris Kearns Goodwin speak about great qualities of leadership. She has written books on Lincoln (her hero), FDR, and LBJ. I thought the show started at 7:30, so when I got to myContinue reading “What I Learned This Week: #214”

What I Learned This Week: #211

Monday, September 13 – Sunday, September 19, 2021 The Week in Covid Testing: The thing about getting medical procedures during Covid is you have to pass a Covid test to move on to the actual medical activity. On Monday, I dutifully went to the hospital for my free, doctor ordered, pre-“op” test. I was thereContinue reading “What I Learned This Week: #211”

What I Learned This Week: #210

Tuesday, September 7 – Saturday, September 12, 2021 The Week in Music – Indie: This week marked my return to attending an official (buy a ticket, go to a music venue) concert. St. Vincent (the musical name of entertainer Annie Clark) played the brand new Icon stage downtown. She sounded great. The staging was funContinue reading “What I Learned This Week: #210”

What I Learned This Week: #208

Monday, August 23 – Sunday, August 28, 2021 The Week in Mortality: Though I didn’t find out out about the death of one of my high school/college buddies until the end of the week, Joe’s death is my personal headline of the week. I had to miss the service, but I did make the post-funeralContinue reading “What I Learned This Week: #208”